top of page


Tyler Taylor (1992) is a composer-performer from Louisville, KY. Tyler’s recent pieces are explorations of the different ways identity can be expressed in musical scenarios. Common among these pieces is a sense of contradiction – sometimes whimsical, sometimes alarming – that comes from the interaction of diverse musical layers. This expression of contradiction comes from his experiences as a person of mixed race; being raised on hip hop and R&B while inheriting a European tradition of “classical art music” as his primary form of musical expression; and pursuing a career in a field that generally lacks representation of his demographic.

Tyler is currently a full time resident composer at the Louisville Orchestra as part of the inaugural installation of their Creators Corps residency program. In this role Tyler not only writes music for the orchestra but also works closely with community organizations, schools, and programs in the city of Louisville.

He has been commissioned by the Louisville Orchestra, Washington and Lee State University, the Youth Performing Arts School, the Albany Symphony Contemporary Players, the Chicago Composers Orchestra, the Indiana University New Music Ensemble, the Indiana Band Masters Association, the National Orchestral Institute, and more.

His work has been recognized by awards including the BMI Student Composer Award (2019) and the Howard Hanson Ensemble Prize (2017, 2016). He also held fellowships at the Bowdoin International Music Festival (2021) and the National Orchestral Institute (2021). Most recently, his dissertation “Permissions” for large symphony orchestra was selected for performance during Indiana University’s annual New Voices Orchestra concert on 11/16/22.

In addition to his pursuits in composition, Tyler also performs the horn in various settings ranging from recitals of contemporary music to professional settings including the Louisville Ballet and the Owensboro Symphony. He maintains a studio of young horn players in Louisville and southern Indiana.

Tyler holds degrees from Indiana University (Doctor of Music with minors in Music Theory & Horn Performance), the Eastman School of Music (Master of Music), and the University of Louisville (Bachelor of Music).

 Photo by Miggy Torres
bottom of page